2021 Driehaus Foundation Awards for Architectural Excellence Announced

June, 2021
First Place Winner - STL Architects for the Williams Park Fieldhouse. Photo credit: Kate Boyer

On June 3, the Richard H. Driehaus Foundation Award for Architectural Excellence was presented as part of the Local Initiatives Support Corporation’s Chicago Neighborhood Development Awards (CNDA).

The award was created, in conjunction with CNDA, to encourage development that respects and strengthens the city’s unmatched architectural heritage – especially in neighborhoods confronting economic and social challenges. For consideration, a project must: demonstrate superior quality design; enhance or serve as an integral part of the comprehensive development of the community; and, exhibit a creative design solution that could become a model for projects in other neighborhoods.

Each year, the award recognizes three developments that are making a significant contribution to the social, visual, and cultural life of neighborhoods through quality design.

The 2021 winners are: 

First Place 

Second Place 

Third Place 

Recent News & Articles