Share Article:

Each year, the Richard H. Driehaus Foundation supports three journalism awards that underscore excellence in the field of investigative reporting:

Better Government Association (BGA): First place in the 2016 Richard H. Driehaus Foundation Awards for Investigative Reporting went to journalist Jamie Kalven for “Sixteen Shots” in Slate, about the shooting of Laquan McDonald. The BGA’s awards ceremony featured a panel discussion with Walter V. Robinson, Sacha Pfeiffer, and Michael Rezendes, the journalists portrayed in the academy award-winning film Spotlight. Learn about the winners and read their award-winning stories here.

Chicago Headline Club also presented this year’s Watchdog Award for Excellence in Public Interest Reporting to Kalven for “Sixteen Shots,” with one of the judges noting, “Jamie Kalven’s article ‘Sixteen Shots’ demonstrated investigative persistence that led to the truth in the death of Laquan McDonald.”

Public Narrative’s 2016 Studs Terkel Community Media Awards honored four Chicago journalists for excellence in covering and reflecting Chicago’s diverse communities: Lolly Bowean (The Chicago Tribune), Sarah Karp (Better Government Association), Richard Steele (WBEZ), and the late Cecilia Vaisman (Northwestern University). Read more about the winners and their work here.

The Driehaus Foundation is pleased to support this year’s best investigative reporting.

Congratulations to all of the winners!

Recent News
Senior Program Director Opportunity at the Driehaus Foundation
Arts and Culture
Numerous Cultural Associations to Gather in Chicago
Investigative Journalism
Driehaus Foundation Joins New York Times in Welcoming 2024-25 Local Investigations Fellows