Share Article:

Each year, The Richard H. Driehaus Foundation supports three journalism awards that highlight excellence in the field of investigative reporting:

Better Government Association (BGA): First place in the 2017 Richard H. Driehaus Foundation Awards for Investigative Reporting went to Code of Silence by Jamie Kalven (Invisible Institute), about two Chicago police officers who exposed corruption with the Chicago Police Department. The BGA’s awards ceremony featured a discussion with Marty Baron, executive editor of The Washington Post, who was portrayed in the academy award-winning film Spotlight. Learn about the winners and read their award-winning stories HERE.

Public Narrative’s 2017 Studs Terkel Community Media Awards honored Chicago journalists for excellence in covering and reflecting Chicago’s diverse communities: Univision (the Chicago newsroom), Cate Cahan (WBEZ Chicago Public Radio), Carlos Javier Ortiz (photographer and filmmaker), and Steven M. Mills (The Chicago Tribune). Read more about the winners and their work HERE.

The Chicago Headline Club also presented this year’s Watchdog Award for Excellence in Public Interest Reporting to Jamie Kalven for “Code of Silence.”

The Driehaus Foundation is pleased to support this year’s best investigative reporting.

Congratulations to all the winners!

Recent News
Built Environment
Spotlight: Neighborhood Development
Built Environment
A Celebration of Story
We've Moved!