Share Article:

Since 1995, the Chicago Neighborhood Development Awards (CNDA) have recognized the essential role that both non-profit and for-profit developers play in building healthy Chicago communities.

On April 5, at the annual CNDA Awards, The Richard H. Driehaus Foundation Award for Architectural Excellence in Community Design was presented for the 21st year. The Award was established to encourage development that respects and strengthens the city’s architectural heritage – especially in communities confronting economic and social challenges.

Three outstanding projects were chosen for recognition. Learn more about the Award and watch videos about the winning work below:

First Place - DesignBridge Ltd. for Casa Queretaro in the Pilsen neighborhood.

Second Place - Landon Bone Baker Architects for Chicago Center for Arts and Technology on the Near West Side.

Third Place - Eckenhoff Saunders Architects for Michael and Karyn Lutz Center in Belmont Cragin.

Also at this year’s ceremony, The Richard H. Driehaus Foundation Award for Outstanding Non-Profit Neighborhood Real Estate Project recognized a project for involving local residents in the planning process, meeting local needs, and creativity in design. This year’s winner isUCAN’s Drost-Harding Campus in North Lawndale.

Please join us in congratulating the 2018 winners!

Recent News
Senior Program Director Opportunity at the Driehaus Foundation
Arts and Culture
Numerous Cultural Associations to Gather in Chicago
Investigative Journalism
Driehaus Foundation Joins New York Times in Welcoming 2024-25 Local Investigations Fellows