Share Article:

On June 22, Local Initiatives Support Corporation (LISC) hosted the 29th annual Chicago Neighborhood Development Awards and welcomed more than 700 guests to The Geraghty in Pilsen. This gathering showcases outstanding new community development projects and the work of Chicago’s developers, architects, and neighborhood partners.

Included in the evening’s program, the Richard H. Driehaus Foundation Award for Architectural Excellence in Community Design honors projects that incorporate superior architecture and quality design as part of the development process in both new construction and historic preservation. The awards recognize that inspiring architecture in Chicago’s neighborhoods conveys dignity and respect for residents and has the ability to enrich their daily lives. We are pleased to announce the following 2023 Driehaus award winners.

First Place – Auburn Gresham Healthy Lifestyle Hub, MKB Architects
Second Place – Lucy Gonzalez Parsons Apartments, LBBA
Third Place – Richard J. Daley College Manufacturing Technology Engineering Center, JGMA

In 2022, the Foundation celebrated the 25 year milestone anniversary of honoring excellence in community development and reflected on the impact of the Driehaus awards. With LISC, we identified an opportunity to deepen and build upon what has been achieved over the years and this year a fourth Driehaus award debuted – The Richard H. Driehaus Foundation Community Design Impact Award.

This new annual award recognizes an individual architect of color who has demonstrated commitment to design excellence in community development. Genuine engagement and community voice are represented in their design in underinvested neighborhoods and projects that serve low to moderate income levels. The jury was unable to select a single winner from the impressive inaugural nominations, and three finalists were selected in recognition of their commitment to advancing community architectural design.

Katherine Darnstadt – Founder and Principal Architect, Latent Design
Emmanuel Garcia – Project Architect, Wheeler Kearns Architects
Fabiola Yep – Project Architect, Wheeler Kearns Architects

Congratulations to all of the award winners as they continue to promote and incorporate the importance of architecture and design in Chicago neighborhoods.

Recent News
We've Moved!
Arts and Culture
Architreasures Takes a Holistic Approach to Employee Wellness and Leadership Development
Driehaus Foundation Welcomes Noemi Garcia as Senior Program Officer