2020 Driehaus Foundation Awards for Architectural Excellence Announced

May, 2020

On May 6 and 7, The Richard H. Driehaus Foundation Award for Architectural Excellence in Community Design was presented as part of LISC’s Chicago Neighborhood Development Awards. Video of the award show can be viewed here.

The award was created, in conjunction with the Chicago Neighborhood Development Awards, to encourage development that respects and strengthens the City’s unmatched architectural heritage – especially in neighborhoods confronting economic and social challenges. For consideration, a project must: demonstrate superior quality design; enhance or serve as an integral part of the comprehensive development of the community; and, exhibit a creative design solution that could become a model for projects in other neighborhoods.

Each year, the award recognizes three developments that are making a significant contribution to the social, visual, and cultural life of neighborhoods through quality design.

The 2020 winners are:

First Place

Second Place

Third Place

Photo of Independence Library & Apartments by John Ronan Architect LLC. Photo credit: James Florio.

Recent News & Articles