2021 Richard H. Driehaus Foundation National Preservation Awards Announced

November, 2021
The main concourse of Moynihan Train Hall in New York, located in the former mail sorting room of the Farley Building.Photo credit: Dave Burk. Copyright: Empire State Development | SOM

Since 2012, the Driehaus Foundation National Preservation Awards have honored distinguished individuals, nonprofit organizations, public agencies, and corporations whose skill and determination have given new meaning to communities by preserving their architectural and cultural heritage. The coveted awards recognize efforts such as citizens saving and maintaining important landmarks, companies and craftsmen restoring the richness of the past, public officials supporting preservation projects and legislation in their communities and educators and journalists helping Americans understand the value of preservation

“The Foundation is pleased to support these National Trust awards and recognize excellence in historic preservation throughout the country,” said Anne Lazar, Executive Director of the Richard H. Driehaus Foundation. “Richard was deeply committed to the importance of this work and the dedication and vision of the winners. It is a privilege to continue his legacy and honor these exceptional projects in his name.”

The Awards are presented annually following a juried competition process. This year’s recipients were honored at the virtual National Preservation Awards ceremony, hosted by television host and preservationist Bob Vila, on November 4, 2021 as part of PastForward Online 2021. 

The 2021 winners are: 

  • Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial Library, Washington D.C.
  • Milwaukee Soldiers Home, Milwaukee
  • Moynihan Train Hall, New York

Recent News & Articles

The Built Environment

Pullman: Moving ForwardRead Article