Share Article:

On May 1, 2018, the Better Government Association held the annual Richard H. Driehaus Foundation Awards For Investigative Reporting.

Five judges (Chris Bury, Brant Houston, Mike Miner, Jackie Spinner, and Laura Washington) selected stories that call attention to the contributions that journalism offers to democracy by fostering public sector accountability.

A total of $25,000 in prize money was awarded to three exemplary investigations:

First Place: "The Tax Divide" by ProPublica Illinois and The Chicago Tribune

Second Place: "Doomed by Delay" by The Chicago Tribune

Third Place: "Code of Silence" by NBC5 Chicago

In addition, a sold-out audience at City Winery was treated to an interview with American activist and former United States military analyst Daniel Ellsberg , who, in 1971, while employed by the RAND Corporation, released the Pentagon Papers to The New York Times and The Washington Post, as depicted in the Oscar-nominated film “The Post.” Learn more about the nominees, read the winning stories, and find a full recap the BGA’s 2018 Driehaus Foundation Awards HERE.

The three award-winning teams. Photo by Stockenström Photography
Richard Driehaus, David Greising, and the First Place Winners. Photo by Stockenström Photography

Recent News
Built Environment
Spotlight: Neighborhood Development
Built Environment
A Celebration of Story
We've Moved!