Share Article:

Journalists from the Chicago Tribune took top honors in the Better Government Association's Driehaus Foundation Awards for Investigative Reporting at a ceremony at City Winery May 21. The annual awards recognize the region's top achievements in government-related investigative journalism.

The Tribune's series, "Betrayed," chronicled sexual abuse at Chicago Public Schools. The series ultimately led to state hearings on the subject and a package of legislation aimed at protecting students.

"The Tribune's investigation revealed how the Chicago Public Schools systematically failed the students and parents of Chicago by neglecting to act on reported abuse by teachers, coaches and other staff," said Richard H. Driehaus, who presented the night's awards.

Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist Seymour Hersh keynoted the evening, discussing a career notable for accomplishments such as exposing the My Lai Massacre and reporting on Watergate, the US bombing of Cambodia, and Iraq's Abu Ghraib prison.

Seymour Hersh signs copies of his memoir, Reporter. Photo: Kyle Flubacker Photography

2019 Winners

First place:
"Betrayed," David Jackson, Jennifer Smith Richards, Juan Perez Jr. and Gary Marx (Chicago Tribune)

Second place: "Surviving War but Not the Veterans' Home," Tony Arnold, Dave McKinney, and Alex Keefe (WBEZ Chicago)

Third place: Illinois Tollway Investigation, Marni Pyke (Daily Herald)

Finalists: "Cook County Judges Examined," staff (Injustice Watch); "Driven into Debt," Melissa Sanchez (ProPublica Illinois) and Elliott Ramos (WBEZ Chicago); "Stuck Kids," Duaa Eldeib (ProPublica Illinois)

Recent News
Built Environment
Spotlight: Neighborhood Development
Built Environment
A Celebration of Story
We've Moved!