Share Article:

Submissions are now open for the 2023 Richard H. Driehaus Foundation Awards for Investigative Reporting, through the Better Government Association. Winners will be announced at an awards event featuring Pulitzer Prize-winning reporter and author Megan Twohey on May 24 at City Hall, 838 W. Kinzie Street.

Twohey, along with investigative reporter Jodi Kantor, broke the story of decades of sexual abuse allegations against Harvey Weinstein in 2017, helping to ignite the #MeToo movement. Twohey and Kantor co-authored “Chasing the Truth” and “She Said.” A film adaptation of “She Said” starring Carey Mulligan and Zoe Kazan was released in November.

The annual Driehaus Foundation Awards for Investigative Reporting recognize the year’s most important contributions to government-related investigative reporting in Illinois and have been a part of the Better Government Association for two decades. Winners will share cash prizes totaling almost $30,000.

Last year’s winners unspooled a scandal involving improper vaccinations at a West Side hospital, identified problems with a program intended to compensate victims of violent crimes, and delved into the influence of corporations on public universities across the Midwest. Judges awarded first place to WBEZ's team of Dan Mihalopoulos, Alex Keefe and Angela Rozas O’Toole for "Buried Secrets," its series uncovering a lifeguard abuse scandal at the Chicago Parks District. Awards also celebrated the work of small newsrooms whose reporting delivered large impacts, and a reader’s choice award winner voted on by the public.

Entries will be accepted until Friday, April 7 through the Better Government Association.

Read more about contest guidelines and eligibility, and register for the event at

Recent News
Built Environment
Spotlight: Neighborhood Development
Built Environment
A Celebration of Story
We've Moved!